Trouble with dragging

Hi,

I’m still extremely new to this, so please bear with me if I’m missing something obvious. I decided to try to implement dragging in the PiratePig project, so that the tile you’re attempting to swap tracks mouse movement. I added the following four lines to the TileContainer_onMouseDown function:

originalTileX = event.target.x;
originalTileY = event.target.y;
trace("Mouse click at (" + event.stageX + ", " + event.stageY + ")");
trace("Picked up tile at (" + originalTileX + ", " + originalTileY + ")");

as well as the following function:

private function TileContainer_onMouseMove (event:MouseEvent):Void {
   if (selectedTile != null) {
     var differenceX = event.stageX - cacheMouse.x;
     var differenceY = event.stageY - cacheMouse.y;
     selectedTile.x = originalTileX + differenceX;
     selectedTile.y = originalTileY + differenceY;
     trace("Mouse moved to(" + event.stageX + ", " + event.stageY + ")");
     trace("Tile moved to (" + selectedTile.x + ", " + selectedTile.y + ")");
   }   
}

(Note that cacheMouse is just a Point containing the event.stageX and event.stageY properties from the original MOUSE_DOWN event.)

The strange behavior that I’m seeing is that as I drag the mouse, the tile seems to follow me only about halfway in both the X and Y directions (that is, the farther I move away from the origin, the greater the distance between the tile and the mouse pointer). However, the difference between the X and Y coordinates of the mouse event and those of the tile remains exactly the same.

Try this:

selectedTile = event.target;
originalTileX = selectedTile.x;
originalTileY = selectedTile.y;
cacheMouse.x = selectedTile.parent.mouseX;
cacheMouse.y = selectedTile.parent.mouseY;

Then:

var differenceX = selectedTile.parent.mouseX - cacheMouse.x;
var differenceY = selectedTile.parent.mouseY - cacheMouse.y;
selectedTile.x = originalTileX + differenceX;
selectedTile.y = originalTileY + differenceY;