Tracing width/height of object in OpenFl 3, when targeting all platforms besides Flash

Just upgraded to 3.0 beta and found out that the method I used to retrieve width/height of objects doesn’t work anymore. :stuck_out_tongue:

If I do this:

var Test:Sprite = new Sprite();
Test.graphics.beginFill( 0xff0000, 1 );
Test.graphics.drawRect( 0, 0, 320, 240 );
Test.graphics.endFill();
addChild( Test );

And execute trace( Test.width ) when targeting HTML, Windows or Neko, all I get is 0. I tried to do type casting — trace( cast( Test, Sprite ).width ) — but no success.

If I do it while targeting Flash it outputs the correct width/height of the object. Any other target gives me 0.

If the object is from a class that extends a DisplayObject (hope I’m saying this right…still a total noob :sweat_smile:) sometimes I also get values like “103.92304845413263”, even though the object is 320px wide.

Is there a way to get the correct width of objects in 3.0? Should I use legacy mode?

Sorry if I wrote it badly, not a native english speaker :sweat_drops:

BTW, I’m on a machine running Win 8.1 Pro (if this helps with anything)

Thanks! :bow:

EDIT: Not all DisplayObjects return a different value for its dimensions. Using Shape, instead of Sprite/MovieClip, returns the proper width. :confused:

I just tried this on Neko:

package;

import openfl.display.Sprite;

class Main extends Sprite {

public function new () {

super ();

var Test:Sprite = new Sprite();
		Test.graphics.beginFill( 0xff0000, 1 );
		Test.graphics.drawRect( 0, 0, 320, 240 );
		Test.graphics.endFill();
		addChild( Test );

trace (Test.width);

}

}

I got 320. Is this occurring as part of a larger, more complicated project, or maybe this was resolved in the repository, and hasn’t been released yet. I think we’ll do another beta release soon today

1 Like

Thanks for answering. :slight_smile: