Terminal Compilation Define Vars

Hi,

I’m a noob.

I’m used to mxmlc compiling and I’m interested moving over to OpenFl / Haxe. I’m struggling to pass variables during compilation. Previously with mxml I could do something like this:

mxmlc -title MyProject -default-size 1080 1920 -default-frame-rate=30 -default-background-color 0x1c1c1c -swf-version=12 -target-player=10.3 -debug=true -static-link-runtime-shared-libraries=true -o=Rush.swf -use-network=false -define=SWFHEIGHT::swfHeight,1920 -define=SWFWIDTH::swfWidth,1080 -define=XMLPATH::xmlPth,’’ src/MyProject.as

The advantage being, the ability to compile a bunch of SWFs with different sizes and unique variables sequentially.

Question One

In my OpenFl .hxproject I’ve got containing width, height, bg color etc. can I overide project variables and pass values during compilation directly the the SWF?

Question Two

I’m able to use conditions like this:

openfl test flash -Dnamevar=“patrick”

And use it like so, in my code.
#if (namevar==“ben”)
txt.text = “HELLO BEN”;
#elseif (namevar==“patrick”)
txt.text = “HELLO PATRICK”;
#end

However I’m struggling to do this:
txt.text = "HELLO "+ namevar;

I’m sure the answers to both these questions are easy enough but I’m struggling. Thanks in advance, any tips / links / advise would be so welcome.

Thanks for your time.

To change the window size:

lime test flash --window-width=100 --window-height=100

This is equivalent to <window width="100" height="100" /> in project.xml. Note that the .hxproj file you mentioned is only used by FlashDevelop, Lime doesn’t care about it.

lime help build lists all “Project Overrides” that exist:

Project Overrides:

--app-option=value -- Override a project <app/> setting
  --meta-option=value -- Override a project <meta/> setting
  --window-option=value -- Override a project <window/> setting
  --dependency=value -- Add an additional <dependency/> value
  --haxedef=value -- Add an additional <haxedef/> value