Status of OpenFL for Game Consoles ? (PS4, XBox One, Switch, etc.)

Hey there, I was wondering if anyone knows the status of game console targets for OpenFL, and/or if there is a central place one can monitor any developments? Two years ago there was a presentation going over the work in progress, but i haven’t heard any updates since.

I also saw there was one thread recently already regarding a new Power Rangers game built with OpenFL for PS4 and XBone. Although that project contains some proprietary work it sounds like a huge deal to me, but I can’t find any public information anywhere about the overall status of console support for the open-source community.

Just to provide some context- I’m a Flash/AS3 veteran and have been mostly satisfied with AIR for my projects, but each year OpenFL seems to be gaining more and more momentum. I’ve written tons of AS3 code over the years and would love to be able to contribute back to the OpenFL community, but without the prospect of console support I’ve been a bit hesitant to pick up Haxe/OpenFL.

If anyone knows anything that would be great!

Every console (generally) has a unique API for graphics rendering. This often causes a lot of extra work for supporting each platform. Next, to complicate things further, each platform stakeholder surrounds their development in NDAs that mean that they cannot be publicly discussed and many kinds of source code cannot be released in open environments like GitHub :slight_smile:

I know of four separate solutions for consoles, one is a partnership with a popular console game developer, who has helped provide middleware that runs on nearly every platform, unified with a single renderer. This is mentioned in the presentation you linked, I believe there are releases coming pretty soon using that stack.