Smooth timestep transition

Greetings everyone.
Trying to implement a fixed timestep in my code i want to achieve smooth movement for my objects (basically on neko). The problem is that the movement is kinda jerky on bitmaps. I tried with tilemap and got the same result. I tested a lot and i saw that the delta time is not always steady just 1 bitmap onscreen. I studied a lot of posts, trying to find something similar and figure out the problem by myself but i could not find a decent solution. Maybe somebody can help me out with that?

Have you tried using Actuate?

Actuate.tween (sprite, 2, { x: 300 });

This code will tween an object named “sprite” from it’s current position to an x of 300 over 2 seconds, using an exponential ease out equation. This will use a linear (consistent) equation:

Actuate.tween (sprite, 2, { x: 300 }).ease (Linear.easeNone);

The best result comes from using a mixture of ENTER_FRAME as well as time elapsed to adjust the animation based on how much time has passed since the last frame. That’s what Actuate does, and though you don’t have to use Actuate, it’s a simple way to get started :smile:

Thanks you for the reply!
Basically i need a timestep for a game. I already have a basic framebuffer and i draw everything there (i read the post using a texture framebuffer, thats brilliant news). So calculating delta by using ENTER_FRAME, instead of using a timer will have better results? I will check actuate as well. :slight_smile:

You’ll want a combo, basically, you render only on ENTER_FRAME, but you compare Lib.getTimer between frames to determine the delta :smile: