Openfl.display.Bitmap alpha property crashes

New to OpenFL and Haxe.

I created a new empty OpenFL project with FlashDevelop, so I’m using pretty much the basic template.
Using a class called “Scene” that extends openfl.display.Sprite, and adds an event listener to call a function update() for every ENTER_FRAME.

Whenever I try to set or read a bitmap’s alpha property from within that update(), program crashes (cpp) or freezes (flash).

Yet, if I set it outside of that function it works. However, I need to do it from within update() because I’m working on a “fade” effect.

I’m completely new to these two technologies so I must be missing something, however I haven’t found any specific case like this through Google. Any help appreciated.

hello there, I am also new to openfl and haxe, but I’ll try to help.
My guess would be your instance of bitmap is null when you call the function update.

but first, I’ll help you to have the good habits.

what does the output window of flash Develop says when it crashes?
I’ll take from one of my project what Flash develop says when a variable is null at some point.

if it says something like:

Invalid field access : set_alpha
Called from Cases.hx line 45
Called from Cases.hx line 21

this three lines gives an idea of what cause the error, and on which lines it was called.

If you have something like that then you have to make sure that your variable is given a value before setting or reading its properties.
hope I could help.

Well I’ll be damned:

First, the build doesn’t throw anything like you say, it actually compiles and launches just fine. It’s at the main window when it freezes or crashes.

Second, I have quite a mess of code already as you might imagine, as in classes in their respective files, a project package structure, etc. so posting here my code would be quite messy.