Noob Question: OpenFL compiles a shared library when targeting Linux?

Hey all. So I started trying to develop with Haxe and OpenFL the other day and I’m completely new at it. I worked through this tutorial (with some modifications since I don’t have the FlashDevelop IDE) and was able to build the game, targeting both HTML5 and Neko. I can build targeting Linux as well, but the weird thing is the output file is a shared library and not a standard executable. This happens when I build using the openfl command from the project folder:

openfl build linux

In any case, I can run the game from the terminal, but when I try to run it from the Xfce file manager it won’t open, and I suspect it is because the file manager sees it as a library and not an actual program. It’s fine for testing the program, and I don’t plan on distributing the game from the tutorial. But if I were going to distribute a program I’d want the end user to be able to run it without the terminal or writing a shell script to do it.

I’m guessing there is something terribly simple that I’m just missing. Any help is appreciated!

OpenFL creates a binary executable for Linux, based on the <app file="" /> name. There are some shared library dependencies (like “lime.so”), but that’s not the application.

If it does not work from the file manager, perhaps it has something to do with the current working directly when it is launched.

I have had difficulty coming up with a solution that allows us to know the location of our executable at runtime (in order to resolve references such as the shared libraries or asset files), perhaps there is a way we could improve this?

Thanks for the reply, singmajesty.