New to OFL and Android target question

Hi

I am new to OpenFL. I am trying to understand the Android platform targetting.

Is Android target creating flash based code or a native android code(java + ndk)? In otherwords when I target android do I have to write flash specific code ?

I have couple more questions but I will ask them later.

thanks

it is native code, no Flash/AS3.

First layer is Haxe. You write in Haxe, Haxe will be translated in different languages (as3,cpp,js,etc…)

Second layer is OpenFL/Lime (or Snow/Flow), which give you support for targets (ios, android, mac, windows, etc…)

Other (optional) layer could be an engine like HaxeFlixel, HaxePunk or Luxe, which give you functionality to speed up the development process.

Other (optional) layer could be a physics engine (Box2D, Nape… etc etc)…

And so on with small libraries and other stuff you can find on git or HaxeLib…

If you use OpenFL you will write in Haxe and could build for every supported target (usually almost in a transparent way).

If you want you can write stuff (in Haxe) target-specific or write extensions (in a target native language) directly for your target.

I suggest you to read some introduction about Haxe and then an introduction about OpenFL to understand better how this kind of ecosystems work.

@yupswing

Thanks for your reply. So the code that is generated by OFL does not use some kind of native player , like running byte code as does Flash?

thanks

As I said depends by the target.
To explain it the easy way:
If you target Flash it will be generated an SWF with Flash Bytecode to be run in the Flash Player
If you, for example, target iOS it will be generated an IPA compiled from CPP files generated by the Haxe compiler.
If you target HTML5 it will be generated a HTML+JS file to be run in a browser.
If you target NEKO it will be generated a N with Neko Bytecode to be run in the Neko Virtual Machine.