Mapsheet - A Tilemap based spritesheet animation library

Hello everyone, my name is Milton and I am a videogame developer.

Most of the games I develop must run on HTML5 and are made on the barebones of OpenFL, so for implementing animations I used to rely on the Spritesheet library (by skylarkstudio)

However, while working on a bigger project I ran into OpenFL’s Tilemap and its performance got me charmed.

This is why I wrote a Tilemap implementation of Spritesheet.

Meet Mapsheet, where animation and Tilemaps meet.

You can see the source code and examples on how to use it on github or you can just try it our by running:

haxelib install mapsheet

I owe you a bunnytest. Will come back when I have one <3

Thank you for your time, and have a nice day :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Hello!

Just some thoughts on this:

// name, frames, looping?, frameRate
mapsheet.addBehavior( new Behavior("idle", [3, 4, 5], false, 15) );

Is the framerate refreshrate independent? And why not just use a float for time instead which will be framerate/refreshrate independent per default? For example

// name, frames, looping?, runTime
mapsheet.addBehavior( new Behavior("idle", [3, 4, 5], false, 0.25  /* (15/60) */ ) );

This way the user of your library will not have to bothersome of:doing this kind of stuff in order to be FPS independent:

var fps = new openfl.display.FPS();
var frames:Int = Std.int(15 * (fps.currentFPS/60));
// name, frames, looping?, frameRate
mapsheet.addBehavior( new Behavior("idle", [3, 4, 5], false, frames) );

Again, these are just some thought!

Cheers!

Not sure I am understanding your point here.

The “frameRate” value is like saying “Playback Speed”. If your animation is designed to run at 15 frames per second and you run it at 60 fps it will look accelerated (fast forwarded).