[LIB] Affine transformations with pivot point

I had a problem few days ago and I couldn’t find anything that handle the problem in a consistent and complete way (if there is one I really couldn’t find it).

So I’ve developed (and I’ve just published) a small library to handle affine transformations (rotate, scale, skew, flip…) with a pivot point.

(Since I am a newbie this was also a good exercise that allowed me also to learn a lot)

akifox-transform

It is cool because you can set an arbitrary pivot point or an anchored one (topleft, middlecenter, bottomleft and so on… all the nine typical positions).

It is transparent to the user because it handle the translation to keep the pivot point consistent behind the scenes.

You can try it by yourself from my repo (live example, code and docs)

README.md for all the links and infos.

It is on haxelib obiously.

If you have suggestions or ideas don’t be shy and tell me.

Thanks,
have a nice day :wink:

5 Likes

Update: v1.0.1 Added support for motion.Actuate

I’ve added the properties rotation, skewingX, skewingY, translationX, translationY, scalingX, scalingY
So now it is possible to use Actuate to animate these properties.

In the example (see the README.md) I’ve mapped a tween on translationX and Y on the keys T and G.

Cheers.
yup

Hello !

I’ve seen your libraries and I’m asking myself about one thing, is it possible to make the same things with only a Matrix ?

Because if you want to change many object by the same way, like a tile in a Tilesheet, you will want to use only one Matrix if you can no ? :smile:

I’m actually trying to make this code work without Display, in inheritence of the class Matrix. :wink:

I hope it will work with the tile of a Tilesheet this way, and if it, I’ll give you the source, if you want of course. :wink:

The library works on a Matrix.
I’ve made it like this.