HTML5 Masks in OpenFL?

Hey everyone,

I’m relatively new to OpenFL. I’m working on writing some cross-platform games (Flash, HTML5, Android, iOS) and one has a feature that requires a mask to be built dynamically as the user moves the mouse. I’ve got this working in flash by using a mask and adding to it’s graphics object based on the user’s mouse movement. However, it’s not working in HTML5 at all.

First, are masks even supported in HTML5 now? I’ve done lots of googling on the topic and most of the info I’m digging up is 1 to 3 years old.

Second, if masks are supported, can they be complex shapes (i.e. not a rectangle)? Can a bitmap image be used to create an irregular shape?

Cheers

I don’t know about the regular functionality, but you could always use bitmap drawing features to simulate it.

Specifically, use copyPixels()'s alphaBitmapData parameter.

You’ll need to draw your source image(s) to a bitmap beforehand, but other than that it should do pretty much exactly what you want.

Thanks for the reply, this looked really promising. I tried it out and it works as you would expect in Flash (well sort of…more later) but in HTML5, I just get the full image I’m trying to mask. It looks like it’s just ignored the alphaBitmapData parameter entirely. So should I take that to mean that this type of masking is not supported in the HTML5 target?

Side note, in Flash this did work quite nicely, except that any time I draw to the alphaBitmapData object and it overlaps pixels that are already there, the overlapping portions are treated as unmasked. For example, if I create a sprite and draw to its graphics twice (two calls to drawCircle) and then draw that sprite to the bitmap data object used for alphaBitmapData, the overlapping portions of the circles act as though they are fully transparent creating a “venn diagram”-like knockout instead of two merged circles as I would expect. Any pointers on this? I’m probably just missing something.