Help on the concept of making stages/rooms/levels in Haxe!

Helloooo guyz :slightly_smiling:

I have been making games for a long time but only using engines :stuck_out_tongue: and recently I started learning OpenFl to make games for both flash and html5 and I am learning it and getting comfortable with it slowly but one concept that still puzzles me is of different views/levels in openFL, how would one go about making a menu, a level, level select etc. ?

I searched for it, looked into haxeflixel states system which gave me some idea but still not very clear :frowning: Please any easy explanation of the whole concept would be very very helpful! I am having this trouble since in game engines we just press a button and a new level is ceated :stuck_out_tongue:

The only thing I can think of myself is to like for example manually check for like a keypress and then manually delete all objects relating to gameplay and create new menu buttons to show menu, is this a good way to do it ?

Thanks a lot and please help :slight_smile:

OpenFL, just like Flash, has a Display List hierarchy, versus traditional game engines using loops, drawing and update sequences, which means that the content pipeline favours object-oriented style programming.

The most common container class in OpenFL is the Sprite class, which offers the most flexibility in the framework. Using the addChild function, you add other Sprite's or any object that extends from DisplayObject. Basically, if an object extends DisplayObject, it can be added to the Display hierarchy, and thus rendered. Rendering is done automatically by OpenFL depending on what target you use. On C++, Neko and other native targets, OpenGL is used. In HTML5, unless the -Dwebgl define is used when using the build command, it uses the Canvas with fallback to DOM, or otherwise WebGL. All other targets are unknown to me, some use the Cairo renderer which was an addition starting with OpenFL 3.0.