Getting started with OpenFL and Haxe in VSCode: My first-time experience

Hey OpenFL community,

This afternoon, I decided that I wanted to give OpenFL a try. Kick the tires a bit. I have 15 years of experience in ActionScript and Flash, and I am also well versed in frontend web development using TypeScript/JavaScript.

A long time ago, I gave Haxe and OpenFL a try, but I decided (at the time) that it wasn’t for me. It’s been a few years (or maybe more), and I figured that it might be interesting to see where things stand a few years later. Since I never took a deep dive, I’m basically a complete newbie. As a library/product author myself, I know that it’s very valuable to see the getting started experience from a new user’s perspective. Long after you’ve forgotten the struggles yourself, it can be hard to remember (or guess) what’s hard for someone that’s never used your project.

I am a heavy user of Visual Studio Code. I use it both for TypeScript/React and ActionScript/AIR/Royale/etc. In fact, I’m the guy who created the AS3 & MXML extension for VSCode.

Part 1: Installation and Create Project

To start my journey, I searched for “openfl vscode” on Google. This led me to the Github page for the Lime and OpenFL extension for VSCode. I search for this extension inside VSCode and install it.

At this point, this is the first that I’ve heard of Lime, but since the extension is for both OpenFL and Lime, I guess Lime must be somehow related to OpenFL. I go to the Lime website and click the “Get Started” button. It looks like I need to install Haxe and the Lime command line tool to get started with the VSCode extension. I follow the instructions to do this, and then I create one of the samples and open it in VSCode:

lime create SimpleImage
code SimpleImage

Hmm… it seems that this sample code contains zero references to OpenFL. I guess this means that Lime and OpenFL are not supposed to be used together after all? Something to research later, I guess.