Export to Windows exe file

I am new to Haxe, but I spent 10 years with pure AS3 and 20 with JS/PHP.
I wanted a solution that is not drag and drop (I do not like Unity), is similar to AS3, and capable to export to Windows executable.
I installed Haxe, HaxeDevelop, OpenFL, Flash Player for preview debug, and already tried test code with success.
Now, I would like to know how can I export my code to Windows exe file?
Is it possible to do from HaxeDevelop or I need to use command line?
Is it using own engine or pack it with standard Adobe Flash Player?
I already used google for searching and reading, but I could not found what I exactly need to know.
I will very appreciate any suggestions and links, thanks!

If you want to build a native standalone, you should select the windows target in OpenFL.
You will need to install hxcpp (from haxelib) & Visual Studio first, though.
Otherwise, you can build to the Flash target (as a SWF file), and use the Debug Flash Player tool to export it to an executable.

1 Like

In HaxeDevelop, find the cog and play button in your toolbar. To the right of those are two drop down menus. Select either Release or Debug configuration, depending on whether this is a final build or not, then select windows as your target.

Hit the cog and wait for it to build. The first time you do this in your project will take a while as it’s compiling all the base dependencies.

Once you have Build Succeeded show up in the far bottom right corner of your HaxeDevelop window, it’s done. You’ll find your EXE in:
/bin/windows/bin/someProject.exe

You can also target Neko, for a much faster build process. I generally use this target while developing for faster debugging and testing.

Then don’t forget to do this:

haxelib run openfl setup

Only after you can compile your project.

1 Like

Thanks for explanation.
Hxcpp was installed during setup of OpenFL as far as I saw, but I will have to install that Visual Studio yet.