Events, listeners & other such cool things to know for beginners

howdy all,

this is one thing that has puzzled me in knowing. but things like events and listeners. i understand say how they work to some degree. but that is with things like keys etc, moving things around, or even doing updates, but even in some way it can become confusing still.

but what i have, and have experienced many times is this Uncaught exception - Invalid field access : addEventListener
this would be if im trying to get keys, mouse up/down etc.
im still new to openfl and the haxe language, and actually not really found some nice solid info/tutorials that i can really delve into to learn. though do have some pdfs im getting into with actionscript. so hopefully those will make sense to me in some way.

but to show what i mean - here is some code im currently working on that has mouse events using nape. the fact its using nape is pointless but its more the outcome and the error i run into. which i have ran into other times :wink:

so can someone tell me more about event, listener and hopefully some good practices to get to know them better so they do what i want when i need them to?
if you have any info or links/videos, that would also be cool

but why would this give an error like this: Uncaught exception - Invalid field access : addEventListener

many thanks to anyone that could shed some light on this, that does actually confuse me. im gonna see if i can find something that may explain :wink:

class Player extends Sprite {
private var _player:Body;
private var _playerJoint:PivotJoint;
private var _playerPoint:Vec2;

public function new(space:Space) {
	super();
	_player = new Body(BodyType.DYNAMIC);
	_player.shapes.add(new Circle(30));
	_player.position.setxy(300,300);
	_player.space = space;

_playerJoint = new PivotJoint(space.world, null, Vec2.weak(), Vec2.weak());
	_playerJoint.space = space;
	_playerJoint.active = false;
	_playerJoint.stiff = false;