[CLASS] OpenFL custom Preloader Example

I’ve written a very simple example about custom preloader, easy to understand and so to be customized for others needs.

It offers a bar (like the original one), a glowing effect (easy to remove) and a fluid layout to fit nicely any resolution/resize.

I want to share this with you because it took me some time to understand how to do it since I haven’t found straight resources about this.

All the documentation, demo and the very project is on this github repo

I’m pretty new to HAXE/OpenFL so if you want to improve it or fix any mistake I’ve made, please do it.

See ya
yup

7 Likes

Thanks yupswing !
I may rebuild my game without HaxePunk (to reach better performances), and this is definitly going to be of great help.
Keep going on !

happy that is useful to you
cheers
yup

Does the preloader allow to load xml files, connect to web server in different steps before start loading the main app resources?

I have to load configuration xmls, call services based on the configuration, load other resources based on service reply etc, and after all this load the main application resources, that can change depending on the configuration and the services reply.

this preloader allows to show some feedback while the app is loading its own content (assets). it works in flash and web targets.
you are talking about another stage you have to build.

nothing stops you from integrate the two stages in one, but the nmepreloader will be always first because as shown in the code you don’t control the preload process, you just witness it and you can listen to the updates to show the user a progress bar

Does the progress bar show the loading process of all the resource assets contained in the folders specified in the project.xml? If so, I think I should do all the steps I listed AFTER that, right?

I see problem, regarding the placement of “logo” on html5 target.