Bitmap image has blurry pixels

Hi,

I’m new to OpenFL and I’m just trying it out to find out if I should use it for my projects. I tried drawing a simple line pixel by pixel to a BitmapData, but somehow it seems blurry.

line

line2

Up close you can see the line is somehow anti-aliased and also the end of the bitmap image is also a bit anti-aliased.

I don’t know if I’m doing something stupid here or if there is some setting I can set on or off or something. :sweat_smile: I’m using OpenFL 8.7.0 and Lime 7.2.0. I tried it on windows/hxcpp, neko and air targets and they all have this issue.

Here’s the code: https://pastebin.com/2Xv5iqXn

Looks fine on my end on Windows. How did you zoom into the picture (the zooming might have caused the antialiasing).

Also, using Sprite, you have access to sprite.graphics.drawLine(), which is a vector line. Sprite is vector while Bitmap(Data) is raster.

I took a screenshot and used nearest neighbour scaling on it. :slight_smile:

Ok, now I tried it on my Mac and the pixels are crisp and clear.
line4

Also the edges of the bitmap are not anti-aliased now. :thinking:

Yeah, I looked in to the sprite.graphics -functions also. I actually want to control how the line is drawn and also it seems to use anti-aliasing on the line and I’m aiming at crisp pixels (maybe there is a way to turn that off?). :smiley:

Ok but that was on the neko target, I built a mac/hxcpp build and it has the same blurry pixels issue as the windows builds. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

Does stage.quality = LOW make a difference?

Nope, unfortunately it doesn’t. :confused:

Oh, also. Do you use a window width/height in your XML, or if not, do you handle Event.RESIZE on the stage?