Away3D OpenFL HTML5 performance

Hi there, I’m using FlashDevelop with Haxe 3.1.3 and OpenFL 2.2.4

I’ve got the Away3D examples up and running but the performance isn’t as good as the demos shown here:

http://away3d.github.io/away3d-examples-openfl/

I’m getting a solid 60fps from those demos. I’ve downloaded them from github and compiled them but they seem to be running noticeably slower (around 40 fps or so).

I’m compiling in FlashDevelop’s ‘release’ mode, with the same project.xml mentioned in the readme of the examples.

I’m new to Haxe and OpenFL, so I’m aware I may be missing some final optimization steps I need to do to get it running smoother. I’ve seen ‘final’ mentioned a few places in templates and I’m not sure how to do a ‘final’ compile, or if that’s even a thing in Haxe? What were the settings used for the demos at the above URL?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Greg

Hey,

The examples were built thorugh commandline in release mode (no debug param) and that’s all. The only other difference which could have an affect is the version of OpenFL. I must admit that the examples on the github.io page although tested locally haven’t been updated against the later versions of OpenFL.

I’ll run a quick comparison here and see if there are any differences when I try.

Thanks for looking into this Greg.

I’m afraid the issue might be my end though, I’ve been investigating further and it appears to be running fine (60fps) in Firefox and IE, but not great in Chrome (latest stable v41.0)

I uploaded the compiled project here: http://waroo.com/openfl/

What’s really weird is that at first I get a poor frame rate in Chrome (between 35-40fps) and then if I go to other tabs in the browser and back it seems to improve performance a little. I’ve also had it so I returned to the tab and it was 60fps for a while.