Approach to basic server-interaction

Hi!

I’ve been using Haxe/OpenFL for roughly a year.
I’ve mainly developed minimalistic prototypes but would now like to take it a step further.

I’ve begun looking into making another minimalistic project involving some sort of server interaction between two clients. It could literaly be anything bare minimum. I’m a web application developer by trade so I’m stepping into unknown grounds here and would like a piece of advice.

How would a server interaction look when it comes to updating a user object?

For example:
In a game loop you update each frame.
To send a server request each frame to update a players position sounds nuts to me since it would put so much strain on the server but I’m guessing that’s how it’s done?

When you create an entity on the client, do you replicate it on the server and then sync for conflicts?
Since you’re never to trust the client I’m guessing you’d need a way to handle a conflict.

For example:
Client request: Set my level to 10.
Server respond: No, my records says that you’re still level 1. Denies request.

Is there a specific data-model i should work with?
Specifically any established design-patterns?

Does it involve server-side rendering or how do you make two clients see the same entity?

SQL or Mongo?
Mainly asking this because I’ve exclusively worked with Mongo over the last two years and would prefer to keep it that way but if there are some obvious flaws I’d like to hear them!

Would a nodejs server be sufficient for cross-platform?
(Android, IOS, Windows, Mac)
Not sure if its even remotely related to the specific platforms since the server wont be running on them…

As you can probably tell by now, I’m only scratching the surface but would love to dig deeper into the server-side game programming!

Thank you.

1 Like

Here’s how I’d do it:

the client doesn’t ask for update but the server has its own loop and periodically send the required information,