Change pitch or speed of audio?

I’m looking at how to change the pitch or speed of an audio file that’s playing. I found some rather old looking topics so I’m seeing if it’s possible yet for both flash and iOS platforms.

1 Like

sound.extract is not implemented on native targets so I’m not sure if it’s possible to change pitch/speed of audio file without using extensions on ios. As for flash you can check out this http://blog.andre-michelle.com/2009/pitch-mp3/
You’d have to rewrite as3 to haxe but it’s nothing difficult (change ints to Ints etc.).

Bummer. Thanks for the info man!

In the legacy target, there’s a hidden “pitch” value in the SoundChannel, I believe, which should work on OpenAL targets :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks for the response,

More than likely going to sound like a major noob here but how would I use that pitch value to change all the game sounds at once? Also will this method work on both Flash and iOS?

Sorry, going through the process of teaching myself how to do this.

After you call sound.play it gives you a SoundChannel object. This can be stopped, or can be channged to a new sound transform. If you want to control all playing sounds, you will need to register each sound channel when it is created into a list of kind so you can loop through them all later.

OpenAL should be used everywhere but Flash or HTML5, Flash has no pitch shifting without generating audio dynamically (which gets more complex)

2 Likes

How can I access the hidden “pitch” value from an external class? the set and get pitch functions are declared as “private” so they are not visible outside of the SoundChanel class.

#if lime_legacy
soundChannel.pitch = 1;
#end

For future reference: when you see something like “function set_xyz(value),” check for a variable declared as “public var xyz(get, set).” Assigning to the latter will call the set_xyz() function.

For more information, read this.