Advise - OpenFL/Unity/Phaser/Something Else

Hi, I’m looking for impartial advise about whether OpenFL is the best way forward for me.

I’ve been tasked by my boss to convert all our legacy AS2 flash interactive elearning content so that it runs within a browser (and on mobile devices) without the need of plugins.

I’ve been researching and come up with a shortlist of OpenFL, Unity and Phaser.

The biggest issue for me is that I’m a Designer, that can code a little. So for me Flash was a perfect platform. I could design all my assets, layout everything how I wanted and then just add code.

Unity seems to be a good match for me as I can layout elements on screen and then add the code to them. However I’m worried about the bloat that goes with their webGL. Our customer base are schools, so they don’t have state of the art equipment or internet speed (another reason why flash worked well).

Our content isn’t massively complex (the most basic is simple Math questions), but there is some complex stuff dealing with Algebraic Modelling and Quadratics, but even still a 3d engine seems like overkill.

So, is OpenFL going to be suitable for me, is there anyway to get some sort of visual editor?

Or could someone suggest another platform/sdk?

OpenFL supports using Adobe Animate for assets. You should be able to lay out content in Adobe Animate, in fact, you may even be able to use the original FLAs.

Right now, OpenFL does not support scripting on the timeline in Animate, but you can use movieClip.addFrameScript (frameNumber - 1, function () { ... }) to add scripts to MovieClips.

When you get things working in OpenFL, you will have options for how you deliver it. You can build back to Flash Player, if a computer lab (for example) has Flash installed and works best on those machines.