The application built with neko can't run normally

I am just starting to learn openfl. After I built my first project with command “openfl build neko”, I run the application located in “…/neko/bin”. The program just instantly quit after I run it. How can I solve this problem? Thanks.

Platform: OS X 10.10.1

There’s a bug somewhere in your app, maybe you just forgot putting a semicolon or something like that. So you need to see debug info or some output. You might want to see the console of your IDE or just compile for Flash for debug info. If you want debug info for Flash, make sure to install the debug Flash Player for your OS.

1 Like

Be sure to compile in debug mode lime test neko -debug to get the most infos.

Also know that neko’s default values are null and not 0 for int and floats, and any operation like addition,multiplication… between a number and a null will result in a crash.

You may also want, like @Alex said, to compile to another target to compare, try the mac target since it is the closest, though win/linux/mac targets don’t have null as default value so this kind of bug won’t appear in these targets.

It compiles so that can’t be the problem.

But I even tried copy the sample code “PiratePig” and build it, the neko version still can’t run (html5 and flash version work)

Maybe your neko installation has issues,
what are the output of these two commands: neko and neko test?

Zhus-MacBook-Pro:HelloWorld zetasq$ neko
NekoVM 2.0.0 ©2005-2013 Haxe Foundation
Usage : neko
Zhus-MacBook-Pro:HelloWorld zetasq$ neko test
The virtual machine is working !
Calling a function inside std library…
Test successful

Here is the terminal record.

So your neko installation is fine,
maybe try the simplest openfl sample like DisplayingABitmap,
if that doesn’t work then for some reason your computer doesn’t like openfl app.

Did you try lime test mac, a bit long to compile and may require lime setup mac, but it should show if the problem comes from the lime ndll.