Static function main - newbie question -

Hi,
I am totally new to HaXe and OpenFl (2 days) and I have just studied the Pong tutorial: everything is ok, everything works, but I don’t understand what public static function main is: it is evident that it is called somewhere because the ScaleMode specified in it is set, but where?

ok, now you can start laughing :wink:
I suppose it is called by default at startup, but I haven’t read anything about it yet.

thanks

It is indeed called at startup, it’s the main entry function where your program start.

The Pong tutorial starts like this

public function new() {
	super();	
	addEventListener(Event.ADDED_TO_STAGE, added);
}

function added(event) {
	removeEventListener(Event.ADDED_TO_STAGE, added);
	stage.addEventListener(Event.RESIZE, resize);
	init();
}

function resize(event) {
	if (!inited) init();
	// else (resize or orientation change)
}

public static function main() {
	// static entry point
	Lib.current.stage.align = flash.display.StageAlign.TOP_LEFT;
	Lib.current.stage.scaleMode = flash.display.StageScaleMode.SHOW_ALL;
	Lib.current.addChild(new Main());
	//
}

function init() {
	if (inited) return;
	inited = true;

// code
}

Well, the turorial suggests to start coding from init, it sounds like a different approach.
When is main effectively executed? Immediately after constructor execution (possibily before ADDED_TO_STAGE event) or after a particular event?
When you call the constructor what is the exact sequence of operations/events that occurs by default before the code starts executing user code?
Is there a diagram somewhere?

public static function main() is called by the executable, it’s the first thing that will be called.
In it you have new Main() which call public function new().
Then an even listener is added to know when your app is added to the stage, when that’s the case the event callback function, here function added(event) is called.