Using openfl.display.Bitmap outside of the Main class

Hi.

I’m new to OpenFL as of last week, and am trying to graduate to typed Haxe from Stencyl. For now, I’m trying to keep the setup that I was used to with Stencyl: having Main create a scene (what I’m now calling an anchor) and having the anchor controlling actors (now called directs) as well as doing its own thing. I’ve tried to start by building on the DrawingABitmap sample project, and I’ve run into a small problem.

I’m trying to get Main to create an anchor which aligns an image to the centre of the screen, and these are the scripts I have at the moment:

Source/Main.hx

package;

import openfl.display.Sprite;
import openfl.events.Event;

import moderators.anchors.*;

class Main extends Sprite {

static var currentAnchor:Sprite;

public function new () {
		super ();
		initialize();
	}

function initialize():Void {
		currentAnchor = new Welcome();
	}
}

Source/moderators/anchors/Welcome.hx

package moderators.anchors;

import openfl.Assets;
import openfl.display.Bitmap;
import openfl.display.BitmapData;

class Welcome extends Sprite {

var bitmap:Bitmap;

public function new() {
        super();
        initialize();
    }

addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, update);
        bitmap = new Bitmap(Assets.getBitmapData("assets/graphics/openfl.png"));
        addChild(bitmap);
    }

function update(event:Event):Void {
        //bitmap.x = (stage.stageWidth - bitmap.width) / 2;
        //bitmap.y = (stage.stageHeight - bitmap.height) / 2;
    }
}

The problem I’m having is that no image ends up being displayed, just a blank canvas. If I have the get bitmap, add child, change bitmap position and so on in Source/Main.hx, everything works fine. But that’s not really what I’m going for.

Haxe:    3.3.0
Haxelib: 3.3.0
OpenFL:  I'm told I have Command-Line Tools (7.1.2-LU2iAg), but I don't know how to find the version.
Lime:    I'm told I have Command-Line Tools (6.2.0), but I don't know how to find the version.