[HaxeDevelop] ignoring caught exceptions?

Hi, I’m pretty new to Haxe and I spent the last weeks porting a rather big as3 game, learning quite a lot on the way

Now the game is starting to run, to the point where something breaks and I fix it : rinse, repeat :slight_smile:

My problem is that caught exceptions are stopping code execution : Haxedevelop requires me to hit the green “play” button on every single caught exception ^^

For example when using Reflect.setProperty : Reflect first tries to access a setter, (inside a try/catch block) and when there is no setter I get a “[Fault] exception, information=ReferenceError: Error #1069” in HaxeDevelop’s output and I have to click to resume code execution.

Is this expected behavior ? I never used try/catch much with as3 and the few times I did the try part was not supposed to fail :slight_smile:

More importantly : is there a way to ignore it ? And only have uncaught errors to interrupt code execution ?

I use Reflection quite a lot, mostly to load external data into objects, and I’m rebuilding the UI using stablexui which also uses Reflection… that is quickly adding to an insane number of unneeded interruptions :smile:

Thanks !

Ok so it looks like it was as simple as unchecking “Debug” -> “Break On All Errors” :slight_smile:

problem solved !

I use Reflect.hasField before Reflect.setProperty to double-check that the field exists, that way you don’t need a try/catch :slight_smile:

Hey singmajesty, thanks for your reply :slight_smile:

I’m not doing any try/catch myself : I have some in the code because as3hx conversion turned out that way but I’m removing them progressively.

The try/catch that were bothering me were not in my code though : they came from stablexui using Reflect, and Reflect.setProperty doing a try/catch. It tries first to call a setter for the property, at least when exporting to flash target (my final target is c++, flash is for testing and debugging).