Confusion regarding ActionScript conversion to HTML5 via OpenFL / Haxe

@singmajesty

Hi

I am a total beginner and have just started learning OpenFL.
I have to convert Flash Games (with ActionScript 3.0) to HTML 5 via OpenFL.

I just came across the as3hx conversion library for the conversion part.

My confusion is after converting ActionScript to Haxe code, do I have to make the modifications using Haxe code or OpenFL code. Can we not make use of one language for modifications (Haxe or OpenFL) post the conversion process.

Please clear my doubt as why do we need both (Haxe code and OpenFL) languages ??
Is either one of these languages not enough ?

Sorry for asking this basic question but I am a total newbie …Thanks

Hi kiranzz,

I was pretty much in your situation 3-4 months ago :slight_smile:

Haxe is the language and compiler, openFL is a framework/library that reproduces flash API and relies on Haxe

You write code for openFL using Haxe language. What openFL provides is all the classes you know from Flash (Stage, Stage3D, MovieClip, BitmapData, Sound etc).

as3hx conversion does not assume you will use openFL or another framework : it converts as3 code to haxe code. It will keep flash-specific stuff as flash stuff : MovieClips are still flash.display.MovieClip

This is a part that is a bit blurry for me : the whole flash API is available in Haxe, if I’m not mistaken it’s what gets called “extern classes”. If I understand correctly it’s up to the framework you’re using to bind the flash classes to relevant classes when you export.

So if you use openFL, when exporting to html5 a flash.display.MovieClip class will become an openfl.display.MovieClip class. You don’t need to worry about this, it’s automatic. If you want you can go through your code and change any “flash.x.y” import with “openfl.x.y” but I’m almost sure you don’t need to do this.