Can I do these things? draw() with Tilemaps, sound loading progress, etc

Hi there, I’ve been working on porting a game project I’ve been working on for a few years over from AIR to OpenFL, and at this point I am very frustrated and tempted to revert all my changes. My previous system for drawing levels used copyPixels() to render the level tilemaps onto a bitmap, and then drew that bitmap onto a main rendering bitmap – I thought I could just rewrite my system so that I instead create a tilemap and then use that to render to the main bitmap, but using draw() on a BitmapData with a tilemap parameter seems to fail to draw anything at all. I’ve tried putting the same Tilemap on the display list and it seems to display just fine there, but that’s unsuitable to my purposes since I need access to the screen buffer so I can do reflection effects and such… using DisplacementMapFilter, which seems to be currently unimplemented in OpenFL but I can write my own if necessary.

I’ve also run into a lot of problems with loading in sounds, where I had it set up to load in sound effects/music and fire only proceed when these were fully loaded, I find that with the bytesLoaded parameter of the Sound class apparently essentially unimplemented I can no longer do so, and if I try to play a sound before it’s fully loaded then it returns a null SoundChannel which causes errors further down the line.

Are there solutions to these problems? Am I missing something?

you may want to load sounds using Assets.loadSound, as described in the docs of the method:

Assets.loadSound ("sound.wav").onComplete (handleSound);

don’t think you need to check bytesLoaded for that.