Asset Packaging

So I’m hoping to put out a beta/demo version of my current project soon, and I was wondering what one might use for packaging it up. That is, in particular, I want to protect the game assets so that they aren’t just sitting out there for anyone to copy and use. I’m totally new at this sort of thing so I’m not sure where to start or if I have to make some sort of concession in the actual game code itself for this.

Have you tried embed="true"?

Good grief, is it that easy? Do I put the “embed” command in the project.xml somewhere?

Like this?

<assets path="assets/sfx" rename="sfx" embed="true" />

If so, I ended up with this when I compiled:

Error: Buffer.add: cannot grow buffer

EDIT: OK, something is REALLY screwed up. I just fired up a different project on a windows build and its doing the exact same thing as described below.

OK, I have a very serious issue now. I manage to get the compile to run with “embed” on some of my assets. However, now all I’m getting when the game starts is a black screen. Everything is supposedly still running: I can hear sound and if I click the mouse where a menu button is supposed to be, it responds appropriately (audibly, at least.) I’m currently using OpenFL 3.6.1 but upgrading is not optimal since I’m nearing the end of my current project.

I turned off embed and it still doesn’t fix it.

I reverted back to my last good build and it still doesn’t fix it.

Nuking the entire “bin” file to ensure a clean build doesn’t fix it.

The project.xml is one of the few things that isn’t tracked by the repository though. Does anyone see anything wrong here?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<project>
	<!-- NMML reference: https://gist.github.com/1763850 -->

<!-- metadata, make sure 'package' is at least 3 segments (ie. com.mycompany.myproject) -->
	<meta title="Glyphs" package="Glyphs" version="1.0.0" company="Brendan Wiltshire" />

<!-- output -->
	<app main="Main" file="Glyphs" path="bin" />